Skip to Content

Statement on the Passing of the Chief Statistician, Dominica Central Statistical Office, Mrs. Prayma Carrette

OECS Media Statement

The OECS Commission conveys deepest condolences to the Ministry of Planning in Dominica, on the passing of the Chief Statistician, Central Statistical office, Mrs. Prayma Carrette. 

 Mrs Carrette has been a statistician for 32 years and served as the Chief Statistician of the Dominica Central Statistical Office from 1997 until her passing. 

She has been one of the stalwarts in the field of statistics who has championed the use of official statistics in decision-making.  She represented the NSOs on regional advisory bodies for statistics.  Under her leadership, Dominica’s NSO was the first among the Caribbean NSOs to launch Gender Equality Indicators in 2016.

Please accept our heartfelt condolences.

About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia