Statement from the OECS Commission on Manchester terror attack

The OECS Commission has expressed deep sadness at the terrorist attack which took place on the night of May 22, 2017 in Manchester resulting in the death of at least twenty two (22) people, and injury to many more. 

In condemning “the horrific act of terror in the strongest terms”, the Commission considered it “as an attack on the principles and values that have served as cornerstones of modern civilization” and expressed particular outrage that “this cowardly act has been perpetrated against innocent citizens, mainly young people and children pursuing the simple pleasure of attending a concert.”

The Commission has expressed confidence “that the attack will serve to strengthen the resolve of the Government and people of the United Kingdom to stand against and to defeat terrorism in all its forms.”

Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia