Skip to Content
#SmartDevelopmentHack: Digitalisation for Development

#SmartDevelopmentHack: Digitalisation for Development

Global Call for Solutions Open Now!

COVID-19 has placed a heavy burden on developing countries unravelling enormous social and economic consequences. 

With #SmartDevelopmentHack The Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) together with the European Commission and  “Team Europe” partners including other EU member states, tech companies and civil society are calling for innovative digital solutions to tackle the challenges caused by the coronavirus outbreak in developing countries. 

The “Call for Solutions” is now open until 27 April 2020!

About #SmartDevelopmentHack

We are calling for digital solutions worldwide to adapt them to the challenges faced in developing countries and to immediately implement them against the COVID-19 crisis. This will be achieved through a matchmaking of digital solution providers and implementation expertise. The best teams will enter a two-day intensive hackathon, present their proposal to our jury and potentially receive significant financial support for direct execution.

Process and Timeline

  • 20.04.-27.04.:  Call for Solutions to our challenges
  • 20.04.-30.04.:  Call for Implementing Partners  
  • 04.05.-11.05.:  Matchmaking between solutions and implementation experts
  • 14.05.-15.05.:  Two-day online hackathon
    20.05.:             Winner announcement 

Participation Criteria

You have an innovative and digital solution that you would like to apply and scale to one of our challenges? As a solution provider, you need to meet the following criteria:

  • You need to offer an existing digital solution and apply
  • The solution must be easily adaptable to the relevant context for quick implementation
  • Eligible are private companies (start-ups, profit-oriented companies, social enterprises), NGOs, foundations, academic and research institutions
  • This is a global call for solutions. However, participants from the EU, Africa, Middle East, Asia and Latin America are particularly encouraged to submit solutions
  • To attend the hackathon, you need to be free on 14.05.-15.05.

What’s in it for You

We support you with professional digital as well as long-term local expertise to implement the solutions together in our partner countries. In addition, you will be given the opportunity to network with a diverse group of organizations and individuals of the digital economy and public sector. Finally, a jury of BMZ, the EU Commission, Smart Africa, GIZ and other partners will select the best hackathon projects – which will receive significant financial support for the implementation to scale their idea within the vast partner network.

To apply and for more information about the #SmartDevelopmentHack, please visit:

Business Youth Social Development COVID-19
Contact us
#SmartDevelopmentHack Team
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
#SmartDevelopmentHack Team
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia