Saint Lucia: All schools, businesses, and government offices ordered closed Monday 18th September


A Tropical Storm warning was issued for Saint Lucia at 11:00 AM on Sunday.  Tropical Storm Maria is expected to affect Saint Lucia and the Lesser Antilles from Sunday night.  In accordance with the guidelines for a national systematic shutdown and having consulted the MET Office, NEMO, the Ministry of Education and the St. Lucia Chamber of Commerce, I have ordered that all schools, businesses and government offices, OECS Commission be closed on Monday, September 18, 2017 and remain closed until the ALL CLEAR is given.

Residents and motorists in areas prone to flooding and landslides are advised to be vigilant and exercise extreme caution.

Small craft operators and other marine interests should remain in port and secure equipment. Persons are urged not to venture out, till the ALL CLEAR has been declared.

The NEMO Secretariat and the MET Office will continue to monitor the situation and to keep the public informed.

Residents are URGED to continue listening for advisories, stay alert and be in a constant state of preparedness. The public is again reminded that the official source for information are the MET OFFICE and NEMO in Saint Lucia.


Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia