Skip to Content
OECS Launches New Youth Platform: OECS YES In Action

OECS Launches New Youth Platform: OECS YES In Action

OECS Media Statement

The OECS Commission is pleased to launch a new youth-centered initiative, OECS YES In Action, that provides a platform for knowledge sharing and inspiration to the region’s aspiring young professionals.

OECS YES In Action, is an extension of the OECS YES Campaign created to foster the development of a Youth Empowered Society (YES) through support, networking and innovation.

Youth account for over 30% of the population in the OECS and, as such, have the potential to make a significant impact on the future of the region.

OECS YES In Action seeks to recognise inspirational young persons on the path to great achievements and serves as a complement to the OECS Feature Series, which highlights the accomplishments of consummate professionals from the OECS Member States within the region and in the Diaspora.

OECS Director General, Dr. Didacus Jules, gave the initiative his full support noting the significance of youth empowerment as the region battles against high levels of unemployment.

“We cannot underestimate the power of these positive narratives on the future aspirations of our young persons."

"Youth development is at the core of the OECS Growth and Development Strategy and we are committed to doing everything in our power to inspire and support the region’s youth to achieve their fullest potential,” Dr. Jules confirmed.

The campaign will highlight one exceptional OECS young person 'to watch' on a bi-monthly basis and aims to encourage the region’s youth to open their minds to extraordinary career possibilities through the inspiring success stories of their OECS peers.


   This story aligns with OECS Strategic Objective No.4: Assure the Security and Well-being of Citizens.
OECS Yes in Action Youth
Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia