Skip to Content
OECS Inks New MOU to Better Protect Your Ocean Birthright

OECS Inks New MOU to Better Protect Your Ocean Birthright

Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States Signs MOU with the Regional Security System

The OECS and the Regional Security System (RSS) have signed an MOU to better protect, police and preserve the ocean space in the Eastern Caribbean as the birth right of every Caribbean national.

As the major shared resource between OECS Member States, the ocean plays a vital role in the air we breathe, transportation, recreation to food, medicine and economic benefits.

OECS Director General Dr. Didacus Jules said the ocean was the last frontier of untapped economic growth for the region as a collective of Ocean Developing States.

“In recognition the OECS Commission coordinates the implementation of the $6.3 million Caribbean Regional Ocean Policy and Strategic Action Plan (CROP) to ensure the space is managed sustainably to leverage economic opportunities for Member States.

“The RSS as a key player in the plan performs a vital role as the body with regional oversight and capacity to protect the space from overfishing, pollution and habitat destruction.

“The Grant Agreement between the RSS and the Caribbean Development Bank also signed will support the implementation of some of the plan’s strategic actions. 

“This is a good case illustrative of the exponential Mathematics of integration and cooperation - one plus one equals 11.

“We also applaud the RSS in their tireless work in promoting co-operation among OECS Member States in the prevention and interdiction of traffic in illegal narcotic drugs, in national emergencies, search and rescue, immigration control, combating threats to national security, the prevention of smuggling, and in the protection of off-shore installations and exclusive economic zones” said Dr. Jules.

The MOU was signed on behalf of the six independent Member States of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States - Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – and Barbados.

The signing took place on Friday 5th April at the RSS Council of Ministers meeting in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

View full address below


   This story aligns with OECS Strategic Objective No.2: Mainstream climate, economic, environmental and social resilience.
Ocean Governance and Fisheries
Contact us
OECS Communication Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communication Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia