Skip to Content
No Eggs Imported into SVG for the Christmas Season

No Eggs Imported into SVG for the Christmas Season

Media Release Courtesy News784

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines was able to reduce the importation of eggs during the 2019 Christmas season.

Adrian Lewis, President of the Poultry Association, commended farmers for their excellent work and dedication noting that this is the first time in decades that eggs were not imported for the festive season. The Ministry of Agriculture currently provides subsidised day old chicks of broiler and layer birds to farmers.

Mr. Lewis, who has been in the poultry industry for two decades, stated that

“Every Christmas the price of eggs will go as high as $30-$35 per flat and sometimes more. Eggs had to be imported. This year we struggled to get to $15-$20 per flat. We did not import any eggs. There is actually an oversupply of eggs on the market currently.”

Hon. Saboto Caesar, Minister of Agriculture in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, in commending all local egg producers, the Eastern Caribbean Group of Companies (ECGC) and the Veterinary Division of the Ministry, noted that his Ministry is currently engaged in discussions with two companies in the region which have expressed interest in purchasing eggs from Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The Agriculture Minister also called on persons, who can, to utilise more eggs and avoid using processed foods, especially at breakfast and dinner.

Minister Caesar further asserted that

“Production in all areas of agriculture is on the rise. We are not only producing more for local consumption, but Saint Vincent and the Grenadines is getting ready to export as well which is as a result of our diversification strategy. The agri-export strategy platform is obviously working well”.

Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia