Skip to Content
Junior Minister of Tourism Organizes Beach Clean Up

Junior Minister of Tourism Organizes Beach Clean Up


Dominica’s Junior Minister of Tourism, Christie Auguiste organized a clean-up at Champagne Reef with her school Orion Academy.  This clean-up, is one of the initiatives of the Junior Minister to raise awareness among her peers about the importance of tourism and how they can play their part. 

“One  of the things I wanted to do as junior Minister of Tourism was get my peers involved so we’re all here today and we’re very excited and we’re working together to clean up the beach and we’re having fun and raising awareness." said Miss. Auguiste.

The beach clean-up took place on February 8, 2019.  Approximately 60 students of Orion Academy were involved in the beach clean-up.

After the beach clean up the students experienced the beauty of snorkeling at Champagne Reef.

Discover Dominica Authority assisted the Junior Minister of Tourism in making this event a reality.

For more information on Dominica, contact Discover Dominica Authority at 767 448 2045. Or, visit Dominica’s official website:, see Dominica’s updates on the tourism sector post Hurricane Maria:, follow Dominica on Twitter and Facebook and take a look at our videos on YouTube.

Tourism Youth
Contact us
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia