Skip to Content
Gov’t launches ‘BVI Open for Business’ app

Gov’t launches ‘BVI Open for Business’ app

Reproduced courtesy of BVINEWS.COM

At a time when visitors have been invited back to the British Virgin Islands, Government has launched a ‘BVI Open for Business’ app.

The app is an interactive map of the territory detailing the public and private-sector businesses that are now operating.

The map is also used to give a virtual representation of business locations in the BVI, and report the status, operating hours, and contact numbers of these businesses.

“This map is indeed a benefit to the public, businesses, and the world. People now have a central point to easily locate and access the relevant information about Government offices and local businesses that are now operational,” said Premier Dr D Orlando Smith.

The app, which has a relatively easy-to-use interface, was developed by the Town and Country Planning Department.

Chief Planner, Gregory Adams said business owners will be able to update the app with information about their establishment.

He said businesses that reopened since the hurricanes are not yet included on the map, and are encouraged to access and populate the application with business information such as location.

“Many businesses and Government offices have had to relocate and it has been very difficult for the public to keep up with the changes,” Adams explained.

The chief planner added:

“The application serves as a convenient information source for users, businesses are able to advertise their services, which helps the economy by making information available for both residents and visitors so that they can patronise these businesses.”

The map is compatible with all electronic devices with location and GPS functions.

Below are other features in the BVI Open for Business app:

Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia