window.onload = function () { document.getElementsByClassName("header__logo-link")[0].href = ''; var link_home = document.createElement('a'); link_home.setAttribute('href', ''); link_home.innerHTML = '← Back to the Homepage | '; var link_room = document.createElement('a'); link_room.setAttribute('href', ''); link_room.innerHTML = ' Back to the Newsroom'; var media_centre = document.createElement('h1'); media_centre.innerHTML = 'Media Centre'; var link_container = document.createElement("div"); link_container.className = 'link_container'; link_container.appendChild(link_home); link_container.appendChild(link_room); link_container.appendChild(media_centre); var section = document.getElementById("header-mobile"); section.insertBefore(link_container, section.firstChild); };
Advancing Geothermal Energy in the OECS for Economic Development and Resilience

Advancing Geothermal Energy in the OECS for Economic Development and Resilience

OECS Commission Media Alert

A major gathering of regional and global geothermal experts will be convened in Saint Lucia to chart the way forward to transform the energy landscape of the OECS to deliver lower energy prices, reduce the costly dependence on imported fossil fuels and enhance the region’s efforts at climate change mitigation.


A forum convening key experts and decision-makers in geothermal energy to help advance geothermal development in the region for the ultimate benefit of every citizen across the OECS. 

Title: Regional Geothermal Roundtable Dialogue (on the 5th Dec) and the UNFC Geothermal Resource Classification Training (on the 6th & 7th Dec) 


Participants will include:

  • OECS Commission 
  • International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)
  • Caribbean Development Bank (CDB)
  • International Geothermal Association (IGA)
  • Key Policy Makers in the Geothermal Development Sector
  • Universities
  • Electric Utilities and Regulatory Commissions
  • Private Companies and other Organisations/Partners involved in the Geothermal Development Sector


The media is invited to attend.  Access will be granted to leading geothermal experts and decision makers for interview and photo opportunities. 


Wednesday 5th - from 9:00am - Regional Geothermal Roundtable Dialogue

Thursday 6th - Friday 7th December from 9:00am - UNFC Geothermal Resource Classification Training


Harbour Club, Rodney Bay, Saint Lucia


Mr. Martin Rufenach
Programme Specialist
Environmental Sustainable Cluster (ESC)
OECS Commission

P: (758) 485 6408


For more information, please view agenda and concept note below

Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has ten members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla and Martinique.

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia