Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court 50th Anniversary Lecture

Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court 50th Anniversary Lecture

Media Advisory: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court

Thursday, February 16, 2017 — The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) is pleased to announce the celebration of its 50th Anniversary.  The ECSC has planned a number of celebratory activities in the various Member States and Territories, including an Anniversary Lecture on February 27th 2017 in Antigua & Barbuda. The theme for the 50th anniversary is "Celebrating the Past, Embracing the Future”.

The lecture will highlight the Court’s challenges and opportunities along with the role that the Court played in the development of jurisprudence in the OECS region since its inception in 1967.


Theme:  Celebrating the Past, Embracing the Future: ECSC@50

Presented By: His Lordship, the Hon. Justice Don Mitchell, Retired Justice of Appeal

Place: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Date: February 27th 2017

Time: 6.00 pm


Her Ladyship, the Hon. Dame Janice M. Pereira, DBE, Chief Justice, is inviting all to be a part of the celebration of this milestone because "this is our Court, and our achievement. Therefore, we all have reason to celebrate."

The Court, with headquarters in Castries, Saint Lucia, was inaugurated on 27th February 1967, replacing the Supreme Court of the Windward and Leeward Islands, which served the territories of the Eastern Caribbean, now members of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), when the islands began their movement towards political independence from Britain.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court has jurisdiction in Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Montserrat.


Contact: Dwaymian Brissette (Mr.)

Information Services Manager-Library Services & Communications

Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court

T: 758 457 3600 Ext 3643 M: 758 718 1262                                                                

Email:  dbrissette@eccourts.org