Skip to Content
Creating Sustainable Investment and Impactful Innovation in Times of Economic Uncertainty

Creating Sustainable Investment and Impactful Innovation in Times of Economic Uncertainty

Invitation to join the Virtual Fire-side Chat on Friday July 31!

Wednesday, July 29, 2020 — The OECS Commission will host the Sustainable Development Movement (SDM) Summit under the theme: "Create. Invest. Deliver. Scale" on September 23-24, 2020. 

This teaser Virtual Fire-side Chat featuring global experts will place into perspective the trajectory needed to innovate, co-create, invest, and transform the Caribbean's business development ecosystem.

Within the context of SDG 9 (Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure), the Caribbean has taken a serious hit to its economies that are historically mono-crop based given its heavy reliance on the Tourism Sector.  In fact, 10 of the world’s top 20 most tourism-dependent countries are located in the Caribbean.  In the OECS alone, the tourism sector accounts for almost 46% of jobs and since the onslaught of the COVID-19 pandemic, a considerable amount of the workforce is unemployed.  This justifies the need for innovation, investment-creation, and the strengthening of infrastructure to give birth to an enabling culture of entrepreneurship. 

Join Dr. Didacus Jules, Daymond John, Les Brown, Chinedu Echeruo and Jon Talarico this Friday at 10 am EST!

Don't miss it!


Event: Creating Sustainable Investment and Impactful Innovation in Times of Economic Uncertainty

Date: July 31, 2020

Time: 10 am EST

Zoom Registration Link:


Story image


This FREE Virtual Fire-side Chat is an output of the Sustainable Development Movement scheduled for September 23-24, 2020. Visit to learn more about the #Movement and register.

Story image




SDM Secretariat | OECS Commission
SDM Secretariat | OECS Commission Castries, Saint Lucia
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States


Agriculture Business Climate Change Education Economic Development Health Biodiversity Tourism Trade Energy Social Development Disaster Risk Management DCRM COVID-19
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has eleven members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe. 

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia