Breaking the silence on domestic violence

Breaking the silence on domestic violence

OECS supports ‘Walk 4 a cause 2017’

The OECS Commission is calling upon the public to support and participate in ‘Walk 4 a cause 2017’ to raise awareness on the global issue of domestic violence.  The annual event will be held on May 28th in St. Lucia.

‘Walk 4 a cause’ was originally launched in 2013 and sponsored by Digicel and Club Gar as a sensitization campaign to aid in the fight against prevalent diseases impacting society.

Since the inaugural opening, the event has attracted thousands of participants and has raised vital funding for numerous diseases awareness and treatment.

Director General of the OECS, Dr. Didacus Jules said that ‘Walk 4 a Cause’ was a valued event to foster community spirit and to sensitise citizens from all walks of life to problematic issues affecting society while raising funds for deserving charities and causes.

According to the World Bank, St. Lucia recorded one of the highest rate of diabetes throughout the Caribbean with ten percent of its population affected, so we applaud ‘Walk 4 a Cause’ that last year raised awareness and vital funding to arrest the rates of this terrible disease.

“This year we are again proud to support ‘Walk 4 a Cause’ to break the silence on domestic violence which is not only a complex issue but one that requires a whole of society response.

“The OECS Commission as a gender sensitive organisation is proud to partner with ‘Walk 4 a Cause 2017’ which is ultimately about upholding the human rights of those members of society predominantly affected - women and children” said Dr. Jules.

Several other stakeholders have renewed their partnership with ‘Walk 4 a Cause’ including KFC, Lucelec and Blue Waters. Thousands of people are expected to take part in the 2017 event. 

Contact information for Walk for a Cause 2017 :
Digicel St. Lucia on facebook and twitter

Contact us
OECS Communications Unit Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
About The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

Back to

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has ten members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla and Martinique.

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States
Morne Fortune
Saint Lucia